Argonne National Laboratory Chemical Sciences & Engineering DOE Logo
Argonne Home > Chemical Sciences & Engineering >

Catalysis and Energy Conversion

Heterogeneous Catalysis

Jeffrey T. Miller, Senior Chemist, Group Leader
phone: 630/252-1928, millerjt@anl.gov

  • Ph.D., Chemistry, Oregon State University
  • 25+ years of industrial research at BP
  • Heterogeneous catalyst fundamentals
  • Synthesis of supported metal catalysts
  • Reaction kinetics and pathways
  • Acid catalysis by zeolites
  • X-ray spectroscopy of heterogeneous metal catalysts

Christopher L. Marshall, Chemist, Director, Institute for Atom-Efficient Chemical Transformations
phone: 630/252-4310, fax: 630/972-4408, marshall@anl.gov

  • Ph.D., Inorganic Chemistry, Michigan State University
  • 12 years industrial catalysis research at Amoco Oil Company
  • Catalyst formulation and characterization
  • Reactor testing of homogeneous and heterogeneous catalysts
  • Catalysis fundamentals
  • Molecular modeling

Peter C. Stair, Physical Chemist, Co-Director, Institute for Atom-Efficient Chemical Transformations
phone: 630/252-6499, fax: 630/252-9288, email: pstair@northwestern.edu

  • Ph.D., Physical Chemistry, University of California, Berkeley
  • Surface science
  • Raman spectroscopy in catalysis
  • Catalysis fundamentals
  • Surface photochemistry

A. Jeremy Kropf, Physicist
phone: 630/252-9398, fax: 630/252-9917, e-mail: kropf@anl.gov

  • Ph.D., Physics, University of Notre Dame
  • X-ray absorption spectroscopy and microspectroscopy
  • X-ray experiment and beamline design
  • Fuel cell and catalyst characterization

Paul C. Redfern, Scientific Associate Senior, Theoretical Chemistry
phone: 630/252-6107, e-mail: redfern@anl.gov

  • Ph.D., Quantum Chemistry, Southern Illinois University
  • Catalysis
  • Nanocarbon
  • Thermochemistry
  • Molecular modeling

Nada Dimitrijevic, Physical Chemist
phone: 630/252-3590, fax: 630/252-9289, e-mail: dimitrijevic@anl.gov

  • Ph.D., Physical Chemistry, Belgrade University
  • Photo-induced electron transfer, and photochemical energy conversion in heterogeneous (semiconductor) systems
  • Bio-inorganic interfaces for energy conversion
  • Heterogeneous photocatalysis
  • Characterization and studies of charge transfer reactions in heterogeneous systems using electron paramagnetic resonance (EPR) spectroscopy

Julius Jellinek, Senior Chemist (Theoretical Chemistry)
phone: 630/252-3463, e-mail: jellinek@anl.gov

Ralph J. Bertolacini, STA, Chemist
phone: 630/252-4310, e-mail: bertolacini@anl.gov

Robert W. McCoy, STA, Senior Chemist
phone: 630/252-7609, e-mail: mccoy@anl.gov

Neal R. Nowicki, STA, Chemist
phone: 630/252-3165, e-mail: nowicki@anl.gov

Richard E. Pauls, STA, Chemist
phone: 630/252-3165, e-mail: rpauls@anl.gov

Michael M. Schwartz, STA, Chemist
phone: 630/252-1907, e-mail: schwartz@anl.gov

John E. Young, STA, Chemist
phone: 630/252-1907, e-mail: youngj@anl.gov

James A. Enterkin, Postdoctoral Appointee
phone: 630/252-0584, e-mail: enterkin@anl.gov

Tae-Jin Kim, Postdoctoral Appointee
phone: 630/252-1526, e-mail: taejin@anl.gov

Dongxia Liu, Postdoctoral Appointee
phone: 630/252-3069, e-mail: liudo@anl.gov

Juan Manuel López-Encarnación, Postdoctoral Appointee
phone: 630/252-2893, e-mail: jmlopez@anl.gov

Milind M. Malshe, Postdoctoral Appointee
phone: 630/252-2893, e-mail: mmalshe@anl.gov

Neil M. Schweitzer, Postdoctoral Appointee
phone: 630/252-4399, e-mail: schweitzer@anl.gov

Aslihan Sumer, Postdoctoral Appointee
phone: 630/252-4239, e-mail: sumer@anchim.chm.anl.gov

Tianpin Wu, Postdoctoral Appointee
phone: 630/252-1482, e-mail: wut@anl.gov

Other Areas

June 2012


U.S. Department of Energy Office of Science | UChicago Argonne LLC
Privacy & Security Notice | Contact Us | Site Map | Search